The European Centre for Medium-Range Weather Forecasts (ECMWF) is an intergovernmental organisation supported by 34 states: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria , Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Morocco, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, and United Kingdom. In addition to this wide-reaching collaboration base, ECMWF also has co-operation agreements with various international institutions, including the European Organisation for the Exploitation of Meteorological Satellites (EUMETSAT), the European Space Agency (ESA), the World Meteorological Organisation (WMO), the African Centre of Meteorological Applications for Development (ACMAD), and the Joint Research Centre (JRC).

Through partnerships with EUMETSATESA, the EU, and the European Science base, ECMWF has established a world-leading position for Europe in the production global atmospheric reanalyses and operational medium-range numerical weather forecasting. An important goal of ECMWF, as stated in the 2011-2021 strategy is “to support climate monitoring with state-of-the-art reanalyses of the Earth System”.

Paul Poli

David Tan